12 Stages of WLS

I was watching the most recent episode of Bariatric TV and one of the people interviewed was Katie Jay, who has done some research (fairly minimal – only 15 people) but came up with these 12 stages of weight loss surgery.

I did the same thing on myself a few months ago, so I thought it would be fun to compare:

My list:

  • Denial
  • Avoidance
  • Guilt
  • Depression
  • Curiosity
  • Acceptance
  • Procrastination
  • Shock
  • Bargaining
  • Hope
  • Success

Katie’s List:

  • Decision Point
  • Shock and Awe
  • Grief and Loss
  • The Miracle
  • Testing Limits
  • End of Invincible
  • Give Up or Change
  • Learning
  • Experimenting
  • Self Trust
  • Mastery
  • Freedom

Looks like her list starts a bit later in the process than mine and keeps going past where I am now. She is supposed to have some resources for when you find yourself in each stage and have problems, so I’m going to check those out. I think I’d like to see more than 15 people in the study, though, wouldn’t you?

Well, gotta get to my Weight Watchers’ meeting! Have a great day and be gentle with yourself and others – we all deserve it.

One thought on “12 Stages of WLS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s